Tuesday, April 28, 2020

Week 7 - Settling into Monotony

I wish I had more exciting things happening to warrant daily posts, but as this is now week 7... not so much.

School is out for the rest of the year, which is heartbreaking.  A $1200 stimulus check was sent out, but not all Americans get it (those married to ones without social security numbers, those who earned too much last year - even if they're self-employed and have earned little due to Covid).

Texas governor opened up the state yesterday.  He said that as of Friday, restaurants, retail stores, churches, and movie theaters can open as long as they only allow 25% normal capacity.  If that works, then in two weeks they can increase to 50% capacity and salons & gyms can open.  And then, in two weeks, they can increase more.

I'm no expert, but I think that if we see a resurgence, it'll happen in 4 weeks.  But I don't know if we will.  So many people - myself included - still will stay home.  I will not be shopping at retail stores as much (or just shopping in general).  I'll still be getting take-out.  No movies for me anytime soon.  I'm lucky in that I have no true reason to leave the house unless I need groceries or a few other things.  So I'm going to do my part and stay the fuck home for now.

I wish my husband felt the same way.  He's an extrovert and he's climbing the walls.  I fear that the moment he is "given permission" to get out - he will.  And he hasn't been buying masks like I have (I won't share my masks because (a) his head is bigger than mine and (b) he smokes and the masks will take on a smoke stench).   So he will either learn or not, but I can't control him and I can't make his decisions for him.  Just know that if I get sick - it's probably because of him.  Lol.

My routine has changed a bit, but settled.  I finally feel... comfortable.  Less stressed, less anxious.  My outside exercise classes will start up again next week so my routine will change again, but not majorly.  On those three days a week I'll probably be more productive in the early morning than the afternoon (whereas lately I'm more productive in the afternoon).  I wish my husband didn't sleep until 10/11 daily because I feel trapped in one room (we have a small place, and when he's sleeping, I stay out of that room).  My dog is thoroughly enjoying me staying home, but now that he gets 10am walks, he KNOWS when it's 10am and if we're late with his walks, he steps on our feet and jumps on us.

So, nothing new.  Just... existing.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Black Friday

 (Note: This is a separate post because it's focused - I didn't want to tack it on to the end of the previous one. This needs its ow...